January - April, 1999 

Schedule of Events
Academic Calendar
Reform Process
Donors Meeting
AIT Review
AIT Newsletter
Annual Report
User Name:

[ Table of Contents ]

From the Board Room


Prof. Hans J. A. van Ginkel of the Netherlands succeeds Prof. Hiroyoshi Shi-igai as Vice Chair of the Board. Prof. van Ginkel, a Trustee since 1997, is Rector of the United Nations University in Tokyo. Prof. Shi-igai served as Trustee since 1980 and as Vice Chair since 1998. He is the new President of Yamanashi University in Japan and a Visiting Professor at Kanazawa Institute of Technology.
Mr. Kiyoaki Kikuchi succeeds Prof. Shi-igai as Chair of the Policy and Planning Committee of the Board. A Trustee since 1990, he is former Corporate Adviser to Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. Ltd. in Tokyo and former Japanese Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations.
Dr. Primitivo Cal, an AIT alumnus (CRD '70) and President of the Philippine Chapter of the AIT Alumni Association, succeeds Prof. Berend Krol as Chair of the Faculty Relations Committee of the Board. Dr. Cal is on the faculty of the School of Urban and Regional Planning, University of the Philippines.
Prof. Berend Krol
has retired after 11 years of service as a Trustee. Until 1994 Prof. Krol served as Extraordinary Professor at the Faculty of Veterinary Sciences, University of Utrecht in the Netherlands.


H.E. Mr. Hermann Erath, the German Ambassador to Thailand since 1998, previously served as Head of the Department for Communications at the Foreign Office in Bonn.
Dr. Rainer Goerdeler is Director for Asia, Central and Eastern Europe of Germany's Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ). He succeeds Prof. Shi-igai as Chair of the Student Relations Committee of the Board.
Mr. Malik Muhammad Saeed Khan, an AIT alumnus (GTE '70), is a member of the Planning Commission of the Government of Pakistan.
H. E. Mr. Rajendra Kumar Rai, the Indian Ambassador to Thailand since 1998, previously served as Ambassador to the Sudan and to Ukraine with accreditation to the Repubics of Armenia and Georgia.
Prof. Ho Si Thoang has been Chair of the Board of Directors of Petro Vietnam since 1996, President of the Chemical Society of Vietnam since 1995, and a member of the National Assembly of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam since 1994. Dr. Hoang Le Tien became an ex-officio Trustee in his capacity as AIT International Staff Representative. An AIT alumnus (CS '85, CSIM '97), Dr. Tien is Manager of the PC Hardware Support Unit of AIT's Regional Computer Center.